Patrick Campbell – BMC Blogs https://www.bmc.com/blogs BMC Software Wed, 18 Jul 2018 17:41:54 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://blogs.bmc.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/bmc_favicon-300x300-150x150.png Patrick Campbell – BMC Blogs https://www.bmc.com/blogs 32 32 AWS re:Invent 2017: Global Enterprises Take Center Stage https://www.bmc.com/blogs/aws-reinvent-2017-global-enterprises-take-center-stage/ Thu, 21 Dec 2017 09:11:05 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=11637 Last month, Amazon Web Services (AWS) hosted their annual re:Invent conference that brought together over 40,000 IT professionals to connect with each other and cloud experts for collaboration and opportunities to learn more about AWS. As the leading vendor in public cloud services, many enterprises currently leverage AWS to provide the infrastructure and services that […]]]> Controlling Cloud Costs a Top Priority at Microsoft Ignite https://www.bmc.com/blogs/controlling-cloud-costs-a-top-priority-at-microsoft-ignite/ Thu, 19 Oct 2017 13:36:47 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=11348 Last month at Microsoft Ignite, thousands of IT professionals gathered in Orlando, FL to learn about the latest multi-cloud strategies. With over 600 sessions dedicated to IT Cloud Infrastructure, multi-cloud initiatives were at the forefront of attendee attention—including Microsoft Azure migration. This interest extended to our BMC booth as Silver Sponsors for the Expo, where […]]]> Digital Experience Monitoring Elevates IT Operations https://www.bmc.com/blogs/digital-experience-monitoring-elevates-it-operations/ Thu, 24 Aug 2017 11:15:44 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=11113 Digital experience monitoring is rapidly becoming more relevant to most modern enterprises. They must provide multi-faceted digital experiences that consumers demand in order to keep their business. For example, we now have compute power in the palm of our hands with apps like Venmo, PayPal, and Akimbo, as well as with apps from most mainstream […]]]> IT Alerts: From Operational Trenches to AIOps https://www.bmc.com/blogs/it-alerts-from-operational-trenches-to-aiops/ Wed, 16 Aug 2017 04:15:09 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=11055 Most enterprises are undergoing rapid digital transformation to keep up with their competition by embracing innovation with new ways to deliver value at greater speeds and lower cost. For example, retail stores and banks are losing their brick and mortar for online digital experiences that delight customers with convenience and services that are customized and […]]]> Integrating Service Tickets to Elevate IT Operations https://www.bmc.com/blogs/integrating-service-tickets-to-elevate-it-operations/ Thu, 10 Aug 2017 19:43:47 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=11024 When reporting a problem or requesting a service from IT, we make calls, send emails—or in most modern enterprises—go directly to a web portal to create a service ticket. Service tickets can also be auto-generated when something goes down such as an ATM machine, toll scanner, or some other Internet of Things (IoT) device. Property […]]]> What is Synthetic Transaction Monitoring and How Does It Benefit ITOps? https://www.bmc.com/blogs/what-is-synthetic-transaction-monitoring-and-how-does-it-benefit-itops/ Tue, 01 Aug 2017 06:25:50 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=10994 Don’t be caught off guard We’ve all experienced that moment when you send a valuable web link to a colleague, client, or prospect and they respond with “Oh, that link you sent me does not work.” No one likes to be caught off guard. We want to make sure that everything is ready for important […]]]> Considerations for Monitoring Cloud-Hosted Apps and Infrastructure https://www.bmc.com/blogs/considerations-for-monitoring-cloud-hosted-apps-and-infrastructure/ Wed, 26 Jul 2017 02:56:24 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=10915 Moving infrastructure and apps to the cloud promises agility that better aligns resources to demand. There’s also a promise for cost savings depending on what you’re planning to do. However, if you do not manage the consumption of resources—especially in public clouds like Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft Azure—you could end up paying a […]]]> IT Infrastructure Capacity: Optimizing for Digital Maturity https://www.bmc.com/blogs/infrastructure-capacity-optimizing-digital-maturity/ Wed, 19 Jul 2017 06:40:16 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=10870 Digital transformation has changed how we do almost everything. Our consumer expectations have evolved so that established services like banking now have mobile apps that work in the palm of our hands to win or keep our business. Hailing a ride or purchasing just about anything happens in seconds—the apps must run without a hitch. […]]]> Multi-Cloud Best Practices: How IT Ops Can Champion https://www.bmc.com/blogs/multi-cloud-best-practices-ops-can-champion/ Thu, 13 Jul 2017 01:15:12 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=10858 Clouds—A playing field for innovation For years, we’ve been innovating with cloud technologies. Within minutes we spin up infrastructure that is publicly accessible to users across the globe for just about any web-based application or service. The promise of agility and lower cost drives many innovators to self-provision cloud resources instead of going through the […]]]> Reduce MTTR: Machine Learning to the Rescue https://www.bmc.com/blogs/reduce-mttr-machine-learning-rescue/ Wed, 28 Jun 2017 14:00:26 +0000 http://blogs.bmc.com/?p=10803 It’s not uncommon for performance monitoring strategies to leverage thresholds to alert operators when certain metrics for key performance indicators (KPIs) go outside what is generally considered acceptable for IT apps and services to run smoothly. To better understand this, consider when an app on your computer starts consuming a lot of memory and everything […]]]>