John Barry – BMC Blogs http://www.bmc.com/blogs BMC Software Tue, 19 Jun 2018 13:01:33 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://blogs.bmc.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/bmc_favicon-300x300-150x150.png John Barry – BMC Blogs http://www.bmc.com/blogs 32 32 Announcing BMC’s DB2 v12.1 for z Systems – A Leap Forward in Innovation http://www.bmc.com/blogs/announcing-bmcs-db2-v12-1-z-systems-leap-forward-innovation/ Wed, 14 Dec 2016 01:30:06 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9986 I am very proud to announce the general availability of BMC’s DB2 Solutions for z Systems v12.1 which launched December 9, 2016.  BMC’s 12.1 release once again highlights our dedication to the future of DB2 on z Systems. DB2 z/OS is the database of choice for enterprises requiring the scalability, reliability and availability that only […]]]> How Innovative is your Mainframe Vendor? http://www.bmc.com/blogs/innovative-mainframe-vendor/ Tue, 30 Aug 2016 15:00:11 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9709 Mainframe IT should be asking themselves some very important questions: Do my vendors understand the challenges I am facing? Is my vendor as dedicated to z Systems the way my company is? Is my vendor keeping up with my business? Is my vendor innovating for me or just milking my contract? The answers to these […]]]> Can Your Mainframe Keep Up With Digital Business? http://www.bmc.com/blogs/can-mainframe-keep-digital-business/ Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:12:45 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9622 Mainframe IT should be asking themselves some very important questions: Do my vendors understand the challenges I am facing? Is my vendor as dedicated to z Systems as my company? Is my vendor keeping up with my business? Is my vendor innovating for me or just milking my contract? The answers to these questions unfortunately […]]]> DB2 Data Flood Emergency Planning 101 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/db2-data-flood-emergency-planning-101/ Fri, 24 Jun 2016 13:51:34 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9514 If you’ve ever experienced being caught in a flood, you may be familiar with the devastation that can happen if you’re not prepared. In cities, for example, streets can suddenly turn into rivers. Basements can overflow and become death traps. In those critical situations you may have enough time to move to higher ground and […]]]> Recovery – Your Insurance Policy for Data Management http://www.bmc.com/blogs/recovery-insurance-policy-data-management/ Wed, 11 May 2016 01:01:45 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9386 You wouldn’t buy a car or home without insurance. It’s required and you also need the protection in case of a disaster – a fire, an accident, or other problem. Failure to purchase a policy could have disruptive and negative consequences. You’d lose time and money and it would be very stressful. Now, take that […]]]> DB2 Deep in the Heart of Texas! http://www.bmc.com/blogs/db2-deep-in-the-heart-of-texas/ Fri, 05 Feb 2016 15:33:02 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9106 DB2 on z Systems is alive and well in Texas and the partnership between BMC Software and Compuware is continuing to bear fruit for our customers! We are very pleased to announce that together BMC and Compuware will be sponsoring a DB2 swing through the Lone Star State as we partner to present HOTDUG – […]]]> Think You Can Avoid the Digital Tsunami? Think Again http://www.bmc.com/blogs/think-you-can-avoid-the-digital-tsunami-think-again/ Tue, 05 Jan 2016 15:35:33 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=9001 The explosive growth of data in the digital enterprise can hit your organization like a tsunami so you’d better be prepared to avert a disaster. Tsunamis, as you may know, are massive tidal waves, usually caused by earthquakes, volcano eruptions, and landslides. The destruction can be far reaching and long term. Just like a tsunami […]]]> DB2 LOBs: Unstructured Data Management http://www.bmc.com/blogs/db2-lobs-unstructured-data-management/ Tue, 01 Sep 2015 16:09:01 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=8665 We all know that IBM DB2 has been around for a long time and was originally designed to house structured data, data that fits neatly in individual fields (e.g. name, address, phone number). In DB2 V6, in response to object-oriented databases, IBM then introduced LOBs (Large OBjects) as containers to hold unstructured data. For more […]]]> Digital Data Management: Seize the Opportunity http://www.bmc.com/blogs/digital-data-management-seize-the-opportunity/ Wed, 05 Aug 2015 19:13:49 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=8566 Whether DBA’s know it or not, their companies are going digital. Take a look at your website and see if your business is promising customers “anytime access” or “mobile access” to the data you manage. If it is, whether you like it or not, you’re now part of the digital economy! The new digital economy […]]]> DB2 Data Management: The New Reality of the Digital Age http://www.bmc.com/blogs/db2-data-management-the-new-reality-of-the-digital-age/ Fri, 10 Jul 2015 22:19:50 +0000 http://www.bmc.com/blogs/?p=8522 During a recent proof of concept of our next generation technology utilities, something struck us as very significant: One of the test cases included a billion (with a “B”) row table. Not so long ago, million row tables were the largest we saw in tests. Given that, is it unreasonable to expect trillion row tables by […]]]>